The historic districts of Milledgeville boast some of the most beautiful architecture in the country. A few weeks ago we highlighted 6 gorgeous historic home entryways featuring beautiful fanlights.
In addition to homes, many of our historic commercial buildings feature the often-semicircular window with glazing bars or tracery sets radiating out like an open fan.
1. Visitor's Center: 200 West Hancock Street
The Milledgeville Visitor’s Center was completed c. 1910 and has served many purposes. The city-owned building was originally built as a United States Post Office then served as the Mary Vinson Memorial Library from 1960-86. The building has a vast historical background, making it a model location to promote Milledgeville’s rich history through community information, trolley tours, and tourism guidebooks. The front doors and windows share the same fanlight feature and design. With the semicircular shape and multiple stacked glazing bars, the Visitor Center’s fanlights exhibit more of a London inspired design and are a beautiful focal point of the brick building.
2. Old Baldwin County Courthouse: Across from Welcome Center
The Old Baldwin County Courthouse stands proud on West Hancock Street. Built around 1885, this two-story brick building was constructed in the Victorian style with a Second Empire Clock Tower. The first courthouse was built in 1814, replaced by another in 1847 which was then destroyed by a fire in 1861. The present building, completed in 1886, was enlarged in 1937 and enlarged again in 1965. Although the focal point of this building are the four iconic columns or the grand clock tower, that doesn’t take away the beauty of the fanlights. Above the door sits a semicircular fanlight with glazing bars radiating out like a ray of sunshine, outlined with a complimenting wooden border. Above the window that sits center to the balcony, is a traditional rectangular fanlight, simply adding to the architectural beauty of the old courthouse.
3. Masonic Hall: Corner of Wayne & Hancock Streets
Located at the corner of Hancock and Wayne Street is a building of national importance. This three-story, handmade brick building was designed by John Marlor and is known as Masonic Hall. The building was dedicated on June 24, 1834 and is the oldest Masonic building in continuous usage in the state. Built for $40,000, the building includes fine iron work with mason emblems, an 87-foot unsupported circular stairway extending three flights, and fanlights over doors to each floor, each fanlight different from the other. The bottom fanlight exhibits a semi-elliptical shape with stone border and traditional sidelights. The second level fanlight has more of a traditional feel to it with sidelights that have almost no design and the third level fanlight is the grandest of all. With a semicircular form and glazing bars resembling the sun, the third level fanlight, along with the second and first level fanlights each contribute to the overall beauty of this building.
4. Magnolia Hall on Georgia College Campus
Grand steps, beautiful columns, and stunning doors topped with stained glass fanlights; Magnolia Ballroom is yet another stunning building in Milledgeville. Constructed in 1913, this building originally served the community of Milledgeville as the First United Methodist Church. In 2004, Georgia College purchased the building and in January 2005, renovations were completed. Both sides of the Hall have three semicircular fanlights accompanied by three circle windows adding to the natural light and beauty of the interior and exterior. The front of Magnolia has three towering doors paired with fascinating patterned stained glass fanlights that allow for blue, green, and purple reflections inside the entryway hall.